UP Prepares For 2024


The standard bearer of the opposition Unity Party and former Liberia’s vice president Joseph Boakai Saturday told party stalwarts in Buchanan, Grand Bassa County that the party is determined to lead the country again and that the future is promising.
“We have a lot. We have a future and we are working on it,” Boakai said when quizzed about the party’s political future in the 2024 national elections.
The opposition party held a two-day retreat in the port city to reassess its strategy and reasons for it defeat to the ruling Coalition for Democratic Change under the theme: “A Renewal Of Our Commitment,”
The party’s standard said “The retreat was hectic, very successful, necessary and timely.” The nation’s former vice president however failed to state the retreat outcome but noted that the report is be worked on.
President George Weah’s tripartite Coalition for Democratic Change defeated Unity Party’s Joseph Boakai in the December 26 presidential runoff vote, according to the National Elections Commission.
Afer ruling Liberia for 12 years, the party is still struggling with the infighting and betraying that contributed to its failed 2017 presidential bid.
On January 13, UP Executive Committee expelled then President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf for “sabotage and undermining the party’s 2017 presidential campaign.

The vote to expel Johnson Sirleaf and three other party officials including the Secretary General of the Mano River Union Mrs. Medina Wesseh was rooted in several violations of the party’s constitution and other acts inimical to the existence and reputation of the party, a statement issued Sunday in Monrovia after UP’s National Executive Committee reached the decision said.
“Throughout the 2017 election process, several calls were made by partisan to expel the Standard bearer Emeritus for campaigning against the party’s presidential and Vice Presidential candidates in gross violation of the party’s constitution,” the statement said.
The expelled partisan are challenging the decision with the National Elections commission.
Writes Titus E. Dessie