Weah Dismantles, Assembles New Cabinet


President George Weah Monday night dismantled the Ellen Johnson Sirleaf – era cabinet, retaining only five officials and naming the chief of Staff of the Armed forces of Liberia as the country’s new Defense Minister.

Below is the statement as posted on the President’s official facebook page.

“By Directive of the President of the Republic of Liberia, H.E. Amb. George Manneh Weah, the Heads of the following Government Agencies and Ministries will hold over until further notice: The Minister of Information, Hon. Len Eugene Nagbe, The Minister of Education, Hon. George K. Werner, The Minister of Internal Affairs, Hon. Varney Sirleaf, The Inspector General of the Liberia National Police, Hon. Gregory Coleman, and the Director of General Services Agency, Hon. Mary Broh.

“All other Ministries and Public Corporations will be supervised by the Director of Human Resource of those entities until further notice.

The Commander – in – Chief of the Armed Forces of Liberia, H.E. President George Manneh Weah has retired with immediate effect the Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of Liberia, Major General Daniel Ziahnkan; and is hereby appointed as Minister of National Defense subject to confirmation by the Liberian Senate. Deputy Chief of Staff, Brig. General Prince Charles Johnson III, is hereby appointed Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of Liberia with immediate effect with the rank of Major General, pending confirmation by the Liberian Senate.”